Campus Messages

An archive of email messages sent to the entire UCSF community by the Chancellor and members of the Chancellor's Cabinet.

June 26, 2017
UC System

Dear Colleagues,

The following is effective immediately throughout UCSF:

California state employees as well as employees of the University of California are prohibited from using state funds to travel to eight states that have enacted laws limiting the rights of LGBT people.

Last week, California’s Attorney General added four states to the travel ban – Alabama, Kentucky, South Dakota, and Texas. State employees were already prohibited from traveling on official business to the states of Kansas, Mississippi, North Carolina and Tennessee under a law adopted by the State Legislature last year. The law, AB 1887, bars state-funded travel to states that allow discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation or gender identity. The use of state funds to travel to these eight states is prohibited unless certain required circumstances apply. The ban does not affect travel that is paid for or reimbursed using non-state funds.

For specifics on the travel ban, please review this list of Frequently Asked Questions prepared by the UC Office of the President. If you have additional questions, please contact the UCSF Controller’s Office at (415) 476-2126 and [email protected].


Paul Jenny
Senior Vice Chancellor
Finance and Administration