Award for Exceptional University Management

Questions? Contact Office of the Chancellor


This award recognizes extraordinary individuals for their professional performance and managerial service to the University beyond the scope of their individual functions at UCSF. See nomination criteria and previous recipients.

Call for Nominations

The nomination period has closed for 2024.


For questions, please contact Rebecca Daro.


Nominations of individuals are encouraged versus groups. Nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Have been a career UCSF employee for at least five years with a minimum 50% staff appointment at the time of nomination.
  • Have either an S-series (S1-S2) or M-series (M1-M4) classification but do not hold the title of assistant or associate vice chancellor or equivalent VP or Executive VP title in UCSF Health.
  • Have been vetted and endorsed by their supervisor and department head.
  • Have not previously received the award.
  • Have exhibited and sustained outstanding management performance as delineated below by the Selection Criteria.
  • Note: Questions regarding classification and employment eligibility can be directed to your departmental personnel assistant or your Human Resources customer service representative.

Selection Criteria

Nominees will be evaluated per the following criteria:

  • Creativity/Innovation: demonstrates ability to develop new methods and approaches resulting in positive change and new standards of performance
  • Communication/Responsiveness: demonstrates commitment to timely, honest, thorough, and sensitive communication and profound capacity to respond to those managed and served as well as to resolve problems promptly and willingly
  • Diversity/Inclusion: demonstrates commitment to advancing the spectrum of people and perspectives in order to provide a broadly diverse work environment and culture that is welcoming, inclusive, and inherently open to diverse ideas for the provision of culturally competent education, discovery, and patient care
  • Integrity/Accountability: demonstrates commitment to uphold the ethical standards of the University and to be unwaveringly fair, honest, transparent, and accountable in interactions with their staff and the campus community
  • Performance/Engagement: demonstrates maximum levels of professional competency, reliability, and responsibility as well as career action, involvement, and commitment to advancing staff development, growth, and engagement
  • Collaboration/Support: demonstrates exceptional ability to effectively and respectfully work within and between groups to manage all points of view toward achieving departmental goals and furthering UCSF priorities in a supportive environment

Nomination Requirements

  • Lead nominator who initiates, monitors, and completes the process. The online tool will route to emails of contributors provided by lead nominator.
  • Endorsement by nominee’s supervisor and department head.
  • One nomination letter* from the nominee’s supervisor citing specific examples of the nominee’s exceptional managerial performance as related to the Selection Criteria.
  • Up to two support letters* citing examples of the nominee’s exceptional managerial performance as related to the Selection Criteria. Note: support letters may be endorsed by multiple supporters.

The nomination period has closed for 2024.

Improve Nominations with Versa AI

*Consider using UCSF’s internal AI tool Versa to improve your nomination letter.

  • Learn more and sign up for the Versa waiting list at (MyAccess login required).
  • Follow best practice by acknowledging where AI has been used.

Past Recipients


  • Lani Pettersen
  • Nina Pitts
  • Kyle Pusateri
  • Felipe Rubio


  • Mary Beth Blasnek
  • Margaret Damiano
  • Rick Larsen


  • Jennifer Dowd
  • Pamela Hayes
  • Angela Marks
  • Jane Rabbitt
  • Karen White Horn


  • Molly Frances Battistelli
  • Michael L. Helle
  • Janelle Smith Hernandez
  • Tristin Penland


  • Clarice Estrada
  • Mounira Kenaani
  • Philip O'Brien
  • Laurae Pearson


  • Jane Czech
  • Cynthia Watchmaker
  • Alesia Woods


  • Michael Chen
  • Bernadette Jimenez
  • Georgina Lopez


  • Aleksandrina Eppel
  • Michael Nordberg
  • Jane Wong


  • Susan J. O'Hara
  • Lisa Raskulinec
  • Eunice Stephens


  • Christina Cicoletti
  • Larisa Kure
  • Naledi Saul


  • Maye Chrisman
  • Marge O’Halloran
  • Clifford Skinner


  • Richard Capra
  • Jon Giacomi
  • Anja Paardekooper


  • Tim Greer
  • Bonnie Johnson
  • Cynthia Lynch Leathers


  • Laurel Bray-Hanin
  • Marie Caffey
  • Carrie Steere-Salazar


  • Shirley Hodges
  • Zina Mirsky
  • Kevin Souza


  • Stephanie Berman
  • Angela Hawkins
  • Susan Lopez-Payan


  • Adele Anfinson
  • Kathleen Balestreri
  • Erika Zappe


  • Amy Levine
  • Ann Williamson


  • Paulette Gregg
  • Laurel Koepernik


  • Doug Eckman
  • Tracy Schaefer
  • Ian Tuller


  • Diane Dillon
  • David Odato
  • Alexis Purcell


  • Lisa Gee
  • Martha Hooven
  • Susan Schultz


  • Kevin Beauchamp
  • Cindi Drew
  • Jane Hirsch


  • Nancy Catena
  • Patricia Coleman
  • Stella Hsu


  • Donna Howell
  • Judith Pelzner
  • Chuck Smukler


  • Denly Herbert
  • Linda Rampil