2024 Founders Day Celebration

Questions? Contact Office of the Chancellor

2024 Founders Day Celebration

The UCSF community celebrates recipients of the Chancellors Awards for Exceptional University Service, Exceptional University Management, and Public Service, as well as the Thomas N. Burbridge Award and Edison T. Uno Award.

Dear UCSF Community,

I had the honor of presenting the 2024 UCSF Founders Day Awards to 14 individuals who have dedicated themselves to the University’s public mission at the annual ceremony on May 28. The work they do is inspirational, and I am grateful for their contributions to the excellence of UCSF.

The following members of our UCSF community were nominated and selected by their colleagues to receive this year’s awards. I invite you to watch the videos that tell their stories on how they are making an impact at UCSF.

Chancellor Award for Public Service

  • Staff: Abby Cabrera, MPH
  • Faculty: Diane V. Havlir, MD
  • Student: Kyle Lakatos, MSc 
  • Thomas N. Burbridge Award: Manuel Tapia, MD
  • Edison T. Uno Award: Dayna Long, MD

Chancellor Award for Exceptional Management

  • Lani Pettersen, MA
  • Nina Pitts
  • Kyle Pusateri, MA, MPH
  • Felipe Rubio

Chancellor Award for Exceptional Service

  • Daniel Chau
  • Deborah Reiter
  • Amy Van Cleve
  • Brandee Woleslagle Blank, MA

‌Distinguished Nurse Award

  • ‌Kathleen Cinelli, RN

‌‌Please join me in congratulating these members of our UCSF community for their outstanding achievements. 


Sam Hawgood, MBBS
Arthur and Toni Rembe Rock Distinguished Professor

Questions about this article? Contact Office of the Chancellor