Talmadge E. King Jr, MD | Dean, School of Medicine

Questions? Contact Office of the Chancellor


Talmadge E. King Jr, MD, is Dean of the School of Medicine and Vice Chancellor, Medical Affairs.


Talmadge E. King Jr.

Talmadge E. King, Jr., MD, was named dean of the UCSF School of Medicine and vice chancellor for medical affairs in May 2015. He began his career at UCSF in 1997 as chief of Medical Services at San Francisco General Hospital. Since 2006, he has served as chair of the UCSF Department of Medicine, the largest department in the school, with approximately 29 percent of the school's full-time faculty.

A physician-scientist, King’s research has focused on inflammatory and immunologic lung injury. He is best known for his pioneering work in the management of the interstitial pneumonias, a scarring process that often leads to death. His bibliography comprises more than 300 publications and he has co-edited eight books, including the acclaimed reference book, Interstitial Lung Disease.

During King’s tenure as chair, the Department of Medicine was consistently the number one recipient of research dollars from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) among all departments of internal medicine in the nation. In 2014, the Department was rated the third best in the country and among the department’s subspecialty programs, five were ranked in the top ten: Diabetes & Endocrinology, Cancer, Nephrology, Geriatrics, and Rheumatology. In 2014, its internal medicine residency program was rated the third best in the country.

King graduated from Gustavus Adolphus College and earned his medical degree at Harvard Medical School, followed by a residency at Emory University Affiliated Hospitals in Atlanta and a pulmonary fellowship at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center in Denver.

He is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Association of American Physicians, American Clinical and Climatological Association, and the Fleischner Society. He is a master of the American College of Physicians and fellow of the American College of Chest Physicians. He won the 2007 Trudeau Medal, the highest honor of the American Lung Association and American Thoracic Society.