Space Committee

The UCSF Space Committee operates as a group of senior leaders whose principal role is to advise the Chancellor on policy-related decisions and strategic issues that are of importance to utilization, allocation and planning of physical space in support of the mission of UCSF.

The Space Committee discusses and advises on decisions associated with oversight of building and occupancy planning; strategic space governance policy; strategic space allocation decisions; and ad hoc strategic space planning groups, such as the UCSF 2030 Task Force.

The committee is advised by its two subcommittees: the Space Management Subcommittee and New Space Development Subcommittee.

Committee Membership

The Space Committee includes:

  • Sam Hawgood, Chancellor
  • Dan Lowenstein, Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost (Co-Chair)
  • Paul Jenny, Senior Vice Chancellor, Finance and Administration (Co-Chair)
  • Mark Laret, President and Chief Executive Officer, UCSF Health
  • Teresa Costantinidis, Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer
  • Michael Reddy, Dean, School of Dentistry
  • Talmadge King Jr., Dean, School of Medicine
  • Catherine Gilliss, Dean, School of Nursing
  • B. Joseph Guglielmo, Dean, School of Pharmacy
  • Sue Carlisle, Vice Dean, Zuckerberg San Francisco General
  • Bruce Wintroub, Vice Dean, School of Medicine
  • Paul Volberding, Academic Senate Representative
  • Chad Christine, Academic Senate Representative
  • Lowell Tong, Academy of Medical Educators Representative
  • Brian Newman, Senior Associate Vice Chancellor of Real Estate/Vice President UCSF Health
  • Stuart Eckblad, Vice President Major Capital Construction, UCSF Health
  • Lori Yamauchi, Associate Vice Chancellor, Campus Planning
  • Michael Bade, Associate Vice Chancellor, Capital Programs

Membership of the committee may be changed by the designated co-chairs as appropriate.