Campus Messages

An archive of email messages sent to the entire UCSF community by the Chancellor and members of the Chancellor's Cabinet.

April 29, 2014
Honors and Awards

Dear Colleagues,

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) announced today the election of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 15 countries in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Once again, UCSF faculty were included among those honored. This year’s new NAS members are:

I would also like to recognize the two faculty members elected last week to the prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS), which is among the world’s oldest honorary societies and includes accomplished members of academia, business, public affairs, the humanities and the arts.

  • Jason Cyster, PhD, professor in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology
  • Frank McCormick, PhD, David A. Wood Distinguished Professor of Tumor Biology and Cancer Research

    Read more about their election in this UCSF news story.

    Please join me in congratulating these outstanding individuals on their achievement.

    Sam Hawgood, MBBS
    Interim Chancellor, UCSF
    Dean, UCSF School of Medicine

    • Warner Greene, MD, PhD, director of the Gladstone Institute of Virology and Immunology at the UCSF-affiliated J. David Gladstone Institutes, the Nick and Sue Hellmann Distinguished Professor of Translational Medicine, and a professor of medicine, microbiology, and immunology at UCSF
    • Jaime Sepúlveda, MD, MPH, executive director of UCSF Global Health Sciences