Campus Messages

An archive of email messages sent to the entire UCSF community by the Chancellor and members of the Chancellor's Cabinet.

Kathy Giacomini, PhD, Named Dean, School of Pharmacy

Dear UCSF Community,

I am delighted to announce that after a nationwide search we have selected pharmacist-scientist Kathy Giacomini, PhD, as the new dean of the UCSF School of Pharmacy.

Kathy is a professor in the UCSF Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, a joint department of the School of Pharmacy and School of Medicine that she chaired for more than a decade. Internationally renowned for her pioneering research on pharmacogenomics—how a person’s genetic makeup affects their response to drugs—Kathy has helped to overturn the one-size-fits-all approach to treating common conditions in the era of precision medicine and biotherapeutics.

A national leader, Kathy co-directs the UCSF-Stanford Center of Excellence in Regulatory Sciences and Innovation, which partners with the Food and Drug Administration to modernize the development and approval of new medical products.

Kathy has won many honors and awards, most recently becoming the first woman to receive the 2021 Distinguished Pharmaceutical Scientist Award, the highest honor given by the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists. During her 30-year career at UCSF, she has mentored students and championed the advancement of women and underrepresented groups in science.

You can read more about Kathy’s extraordinary career in this UCSF story.

I want to thank Thomas Kearney, PharmD, who has served as interim dean since January 4, and members of the search committee, led by School of Dentistry Dean Michael Reddy, for their excellent work and dedication.

Please join me in congratulating Kathy in her new role as dean of the School of Pharmacy.


Sam Hawgood, MBBS
Arthur and Toni Rembe Rock Distinguished Professor