Campus Messages

An archive of email messages sent to the entire UCSF community by the Chancellor and members of the Chancellor's Cabinet.

Honoring 2022 UCSF Medal Awardees

Dear UCSF Community,

I am delighted to announce the recipients of the 2022 UCSF Medal, the University’s highest recognition honoring individuals whose life work has made a significant impact in our mission areas of scientific discovery, health care, education, and public service.

All awardees below reflect our shared values, representing the contributions and excellence of our UCSF community:

  • Freeman Bradley, Charles Edgar Clary, and David Johnson, co-founders of the Black Caucus, a group founded in 1968 by staff to champion equal opportunity and inclusion and affect change at UCSF
  • Jennie Chen Hansen, RN, MSN, FAAN, a 1971 alumna of the School of Nursing and an advocate and thought leader on health and care for aging populations who led several organizations, including serving as president of the AARP
  • David Julius, PhD, a professor and chair of the Department of Physiology and the Morris Herzstein Chair in Molecular Biology and Medicine who has received medicine’s most prestigious awards, including the 2021 Nobel Prize for co-discovery of receptors for temperature and touch

These individuals were honored at a ceremony last week. You can learn more about them in these videos available on


Sam Hawgood, MBBS
Arthur and Toni Rembe Rock Distinguished Professor