Campus Messages

An archive of email messages sent to the entire UCSF community by the Chancellor and members of the Chancellor's Cabinet.

Five UCSF Faculty Elected to NAS

Dear Colleagues:

I am pleased to join the campus community in congratulating five of our faculty members on their recent election to the National Academy of Sciences:  Professor Robert Fletterick, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics; Professor Donald Ganem, Departments of Microbiology and Immunology and Medicine; Professor Ulrike Heberlein, Department of Anatomy; Professor and Chair Lewis Lanier, Cancer Research Institute and Department of Microbiology and Immunology; and Professor Zena Werb, Department of Anatomy.

Election to membership in the National Academy of Sciences is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded an American scientist. UCSF can now count 42 of our current faculty who are members of this distinguished group.


Susan Desmond-Hellmann, M.D., M.P.H.