Campus Messages

An archive of email messages sent to the entire UCSF community by the Chancellor and members of the Chancellor's Cabinet.

Dean, School of Nursing

Dear Colleagues,

I am very pleased to announce the appointment of Catherine L. Gilliss, PhD, RN, FAAN, as our new dean for the UCSF School of Nursing and associate vice chancellor for nursing affairs, effective September 25, 2017.

Catherine has extensive leadership experience from serving as dean of the schools of nursing at both Duke University and Yale University. Her background is in psychiatric and primary care, and her research focus is examining the impact of behavior on the recognition and management of illness.

Catherine’s foremost priorities as dean of the UCSF School of Nursing are development of a sustainable business model and further integration of its people and programs within the overall UCSF Health enterprise. Her responsibilities include advancing the School’s commitment to combining research and scholarship with high quality clinical education at the graduate level, developing new ways to maintain the school’s growth, enhancing the school’s strong dedication to diversity, and being a key thought leader in the national and international nursing community.

This is a homecoming for Catherine after a twenty-year absence. She served as chair of the Department of Family Healthcare Nursing from 1993–1998.

I extend my deep gratitude to Dr. Sandra Weiss, RN, PhD, FAAN, professor and Robert C. and Delphine Wentland Eschbach Chair in Mental Health, co-director of the UCSF Depression Center, and professor in the school’s Department of Community Health Systems, who served as interim dean, once again, and who will return to her many research and professional commitments as a member of the faculty. Sandra guided the School of Nursing for the last year, keeping it strongly focused on its mission in the face of her other ongoing responsibilities. I also send my great appreciation to the entire School of Nursing community – faculty, staff, and students – who answered our call for participation during the search and recruitment process.

My enthusiastic thanks also go to the search committee for their excellent work: Elizabeth Watkins (chair), Abbey Alkon, Janine Cataldo, Angel Chen, Catherine Chesla, Carol Dawson-Rose, Eli Fox, Lynda Jacobsen, Elsbeth Kalenderian, Tom Kearney, Kord Kober, Tina Mammone, Judy Martin-Holland, Wendy Max, Nancy Milliken, Linda Park, and Howard Pinderhughes.

Please join me in welcoming Catherine back to UCSF. Read more about Dr. Catherine L. Gilliss, PhD, RN, FAAN.

Best wishes,

Sam Hawgood, MBBS
Arthur and Toni Rembe Rock Distinguished Professor