Campus Messages

An archive of email messages sent to the entire UCSF community by the Chancellor and members of the Chancellor's Cabinet.

Announcing Interim Dean of the UCSF School of Medicine and the launch of the search for the next Dean

Dear UCSF Community:

I write to inform you that Bruce Wintroub, MD, has agreed to serve as interim dean of the School of Medicine, effective September 15, while we embark on the search for my successor. Dr. Wintroub, a distinguished dermatologist, has served UCSF for 32 years. Most recently he has served as Vice Dean – School of Medicine since 2004 as well as Professor and Chair of the Department of Dermatology since 1985. Dr. Wintroub will maintain his responsibilities in the Department of Dermatology including his position as chair. I am confident that he will serve with distinction and ably steer the School through this transition.

Dr. Wintroub earned a medical degree at Washington University, St. Louis, Missouri, with residencies and fellowships at Peter Bent Brigham Hospital, Boston (Internal Medicine) and Harvard Medical School (Immunology and Dermatology). He earned his AB at Amherst College, Amherst, Massachusetts. Read more at:

I have appointed a search committee for my successor as dean, and Drs. Catherine Lucey, Professor and School of Medicine Vice Dean—Education, and Shaun Coughlin, Professor and Director—Cardiovascular Research Institute will serve as co-chairs. The committee is charged to work with the search firm of Isaacson, Miller to identify distinguished academicians who have demonstrated their ability to successfully advance all mission areas and whose values align with the core values of UCSF.

Nominations, inquiries, applications and comments may be sent in confidence to Administrative Director Deborah Reiter at [email protected].

In the meantime, I am deeply grateful to Bruce for his dedicated service and commitment to lead the School through this transition period.


Sam Hawgood, MBBS
Arthur and Toni Rembe Rock Distinguished Professor