Campus Messages

An archive of email messages sent to the entire UCSF community by the Chancellor and members of the Chancellor's Cabinet.

2022 Chancellor Awards for Diversity Recipients

Dear UCSF Community,

Every year UCSF recognizes and celebrates the efforts of members of our institution who demonstrate commitment and service to diversity, equity, inclusion, and anti-racism. Moreover, these individuals show extraordinary leadership in their respective fields and in the communities they serve. I am pleased to share with you the 2022 Chancellor Awards for Diversity recipients.

Chancellor Sam Hawgood recognized the recipients listed below at a reception on Tuesday last week. Each one of them has gone far above and beyond their day-to-day responsibilities to make UCSF a place that genuinely welcomes, educates, and cares for all.

Please join me in congratulating these faculty, staff, students, and trainees. I invite you to learn about them and their remarkable efforts by watching these short videos.

Chancellor Award for Advancement of Women

  • Eleanor Palser, PhD
  • Julie Ann Sosa, MD, MA

Chancellor Award for Disability Service

  • Diane Ngo, MPA
  • Noemi Spinazzi, MD

Chancellor Award for Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Leadership

  • Gabby Negussie-Retta, MS
  • Meshell Johnson, MD
  • Nadia Ayad, PhD Candidate

Chancellor Award for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, and Intersex Leadership

  • Jay Bindman, MD Candidate
  • Luis Gutierrez-Mock, PhD(c), MPH, MA
  • Nicole Rosendale, MD

We thank the recipients for their contributions to making UCSF more diverse, equitable, and inclusive for all.


J. Renée Navarro, PharmD, MD
Vice Chancellor
Chief Diversity and Outreach Officer