• March 3, 2017

    Reports on Sexual Violence and Sexual Harassment Cases

    Dear Members of the UCSF Community:

    Bay Area media outlets have carried stories this week covering more than three years of reported violations of the Title IX Sexual Violence and Sexual Harassment Policy between January 1, 2013 and April 6, 2016 at the ten campuses of the University of California. Of the 113 cases that were included in this systemwide release of records, 26 cases occurred at UCSF. The release of these records is the result of several California Public Records Act requests made last spring by media outlets.

  • February 28, 2017

    School of Dentistry Dean John Featherstone

    Dear Colleagues,

    John Featherstone, MSc, PhD, has informed me of his intent to step down as dean of the School of Dentistry and as a UCSF faculty member at the end of December 2017. Dean Featherstone came to UCSF in 1995, and his accomplishments as a faculty member and dean have made a significant impact on research, dental care and the UCSF community.

  • January 31, 2017

    Updates Regarding President’s Executive Order on Immigration

    Dear Members of the UCSF Community,

    I am writing to provide another update on President Trump’s executive order on immigration and its impact on our community. Since the announcement of the executive order last Friday, my leadership team has been working continuously to gain clarity on the concrete implications of the policy as well as to provide answers to the many questions and concerns that this action has raised among members of the UCSF community.

  • January 29, 2017

    UC statement on President Trump's executive order

    Dear Members of the UCSF Community,

    Please see the message below from President Janet Napolitano, myself and the other Chancellors of the University of California regarding the executive order on border security and immigration. We are sharing this with the UCSF community on behalf of President Napolitano. Our statement also is available online.


    Sam Hawgood, MBBS
    Arthur and Toni Rembe Rock Distinguished Professor