• March 1, 2010

    Congratulations to New Members of the Institute of Medicine

    Please join me in congratulating five faculty at UCSF on their election to the prestigious Institute of Medicine: Deborah Grady, M.D., M.P.H.; Lawrence W. Green, Dr.P.H.; Michael R. Harrison, M.D.; Sam Hawgood, M.B.B.S.; and Roger Nicoll,M.D. For more information regarding this momentous occasion go to: http://news.ucsf.edu/releases/five-ucsf-scientists-named-to-institute-of...

  • March 1, 2010

    Elizabeth Blackburn receives 2009 Nobel Prize

    I am delighted to announce that UCSF molecular biologist, Elizabeth H. Blackburn, Ph.D., today was named to receive the 2009 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. Blackburn shares the award with Carol W. Greider of Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and Jack W. Szostak of Harvard Medical School.

  • March 1, 2010

    Retirement of Senior Vice Chancellor Bruce W. Spaulding

    I want to acknowledge and thank Senior Vice Chancellor Bruce Spaulding, who is retiring from UCSF effective this December after nearly 22 years of exemplary service, for his many significant contributions to UCSF.

  • September 18, 2009

    Appointment - Dean School of Medicine

    On August 10, I informed the campus community that, after careful review and based on an extensive search, Dr. Sam Hawgood had agreed to serve as dean of the School of Medicine and vice chancellor—medical affairs, subject to Regents' approval.